A second KWETB Post-Election meeting of the Board of KWETB was held in the Committee room, Aras Chill Dara, Devoy Park, Naas, Co. Kildare on Thursday 25th July 2019, commencing at 11:00 a.m.

Present:

Cllr. Patsy Glennon, Cllr. Tom Fortune, Cllr. Paul O'Brien, Cllr. Lourda Scott, Cllr. Anne Ferris, Cllr. Angela Feeney, Cllr. Evie Sammon, Cllr. Kevin Duffy, Cllr. Daragh Fitzpatrick, Cllr. Bernard Caldwell, Cllr. Peter Hamilton, Cllr. Ide Cussen, Ms. Hilary Anne Murray, Ms Deirdre

O'Donovan, Mr. David O'Gorman

In attendance:

Dr. Deirdre Keyes Dr. Rory O'Toole Mr. Joe Kelly Ms. Mary Dillon

Ms. Patricia Durcan

Apologies:

Mr. Stephen Horan

AGENDA

- 1. Election of Chair for the Second Meeting
- 2. Conflict of Interest
- 3. Appointment of five members in accordance with section 30(11)(B)
- 4. Date and Time for the next Board meeting

Minute No. ETB-06-07-19

Chief Executive's welcome

The Chief Executive, Dr. Deirdre Keyes welcomed the parents' representatives, Ms. Deirdre O'Donovan and Mr. David O'Gorman. She gave a brief introduction to KWETB and introduced Dr. Rory O'Toole, Director of Schools and Mr. Joe Kelly, Director of Organisational Support and Development (OSD), who addressed the Board. Dr. Keyes gave a brief outline of Further Education and Training in the absence of the Director of FET, Caitriona Murphy.

Dr. Keyes invited all Board Members present to introduce themselves to the meeting.

Minute No. ETB-07-07-19

No. 1 Agenda Election of Chair for the Meeting

Cllr. Daragh Fitzpatrick was elected temporary Chairperson. He was proposed by Cllr Bernard Caldwell, seconded by Cllr. Lourda Scott and agreed by the Board.

Minute No. ETB 08-07-19

No.2 Agenda Conflict of Interest

Cllr Patsy Glennon disclosed that his brother had withdrawn his nomination from Condradh na Gaeilge as it may have conflicted with his appointment.

Minute No. ETB 09-07-19

No. 3 Agenda

Appointment of five members in accordance with section 30(11)(B)

Chairperson Daragh Fitzpatrick guided the Board through the nomination process. Short biographies of all nominees were distributed. Dr. Deirdre Keyes explained that the purpose of selecting the appropriate bodies and their representatives was to make sure that the learner voice is supported and that the members are happy that equality and inclusion are supported on all levels.

The Board met in-committee to discuss and make their selections.

Proposed by Cllr. Bernard Caldwell, seconded by Cllr Angela Feeney and agreed.

Cllr. Daragh Fitzpatrick requested the minute taker return to the room at 11:50 for counting of votes. Nominees Ms. Alice O'Donnell-ICTU, Ms. Elaine Kelly-IBEC, Ms. Caoimhe Molloy-NYCI, Mr. Gerard Gallagher-DFI, Mr. Noel Merrick-JMB/NAPD/ACCS were elected.

The Chief Executive, Directors and staff returned to the meeting. Members formally proposed, seconded and agreed the five chosen nominees.

Ms. Alice O'Donnell – ICTU was proposed by Cllr. Anne Ferris, seconded by Cllr. Lourda Scott and agreed.

Mr. Noel Merrick-JMB/NAPD/ACCs was proposed by Cllr Patsy Glennon, seconded by Cllr. Evie Sammon and agreed.

Ms. Elaine Kelly-IBEC was proposed by Cllr Kevin Duffy, seconded by Ms. Hilary Ann Murray and agreed.

Mr. Gerard Gallagher-DFI was proposed by Cllr Angela Feeney, seconded by Cllr. Evie Sammon and agreed.

Ms. Caoimhe Molloy-NYCI was proposed by Cllr Anne Ferris, seconded by Cllr. Paul O'Brien and agreed.

Dr Deirdre Keyes thanked the Board

11.	AT	תיתית	10	07	10
Minute I	VO	EIB	10-	·U/-	-19

No. 4 Agenda Date and Time for next meeting

The first full meeting of the new KWETB Board is scheduled for Tuesday 10/9/19 at 10:30 a.m.